Napa Valley has been on my to-do list for some time now… a calling of sorts.  I’ve just returned from my first trip to the wine country and it is a magical place.  Grapevines, gigantic Christmas trees, vibrant fall colored leaves in red, orange, and yellow hues, mixed with palm trees blanketed by misty fog.  An impossible combination, more like a daydream, but it does in fact exist.  The call to Napa was about much more than the landscape, energy, and grapes.  I was to be part of a beautiful group of women led by author and spiritual teacher, Tambra Harck, called Emergent Woman. 

After a long and powerfully transformative day, our goddess posse was enjoying a large spread of cheese, fruit, and wine prior to dinner.  We were laughing, enjoying the “yumminess”, and listening to Christmas music playing in the dining room of our quaint country inn, La Residence.  An Elvis song came on and we started to share our stories about The King. 

As we shared Elvis stories, I realized my perspective on Elvis is much different from when I idolized him as a teenager. I still have a huge appreciation for him as an artist but as an intuitive life coach I see his humanness and feel his pain.  He was not equipped to handle the emotional swings of his life.  Yes, he was a celebrity and there are additional pressures that come with that I’m certain but it is all relative to the individual.  The emotional extremes Elvis must have felt would be similar to the emotional extremes felt by a 13 year old girl with braces; embarrassed by her mere existence and completely confused by emotions.   There is much pain and suffering when emotions are not understood and feel out of control.

I made the comment to my lovely lady friends, “I wish Elvis could come back.  I would love to help him.”  A DeLorean time-machine Back to the Future style might be more appropriate… either way…this is what I would say: “Elvis, sugar, there are no uppers or downers that will make what you are experiencing go away.  I know what it is like to be on an emotional rollercoaster… and I know the medicine of a midnight peanut butter and banana sandwich.  I assure you Elvis no amount of women, alcohol, hit records, new silver screen roles, or even your mama’s fried chicken will resolve the internal conflict and turmoil and confusion you are feeling.   You have to get in alignment with the REAL you.   Your happiness will come from within once you find your heart and educate yourself enough to really live in it. 

It is a process and the best way to go about it is to accept help.  The minute you seek teachers, tools, mentors, and workshops to assist you, they will show up in large numbers and be exactly what you need!  The universe will rush in to support  if you are brave enough to ask for help and be open to it coming in new forms.  C’mon Elvis… even Christ needed 12 helpers to get his work done on this planet.  Who are any of us to try and go it alone?  Let’s get you headed back in the right direction so you can FEEL the joy of your music again!  You are numb right now but I promise that can change.  When do you want to set up your first appointment? “

Picture this… an 80 year old Elvis still belting it out all over the world with his own line of juicers, cookware, cookbooks, and herbal cleanses at Target trying to help everyone stay young.  Can’t you just see him doing those signature hips proving his vitality!  Elvis still living his passion, surrounded by people that love him including his grand children.  How awesome would it be for Elvis to rewrite his legacy as one of passion and wholeness?  Each one of us has a legacy to leave.  If you don’t think your legacy is all that noteworthy at this point… you still have the opportunity to rewrite it!

And who knows, Elvis could already be back at it, putting all of his lessons to good use.  What if Elvis came back as Justin Bieber?  Justin, honey, if you are reading this… let’s get you equipped early on.  It is not hard and I’m certain with the right emotional and spiritual tools, you’ll have a long and happy road ahead of you.  Call me and we can set up your first appointment.  Ha!

What an amazing trip and further confirmation of my service in this lifetime.  I am so grateful to connect with this group of gorgeous, strong, passionate, and caring women living their highest mission of joyful service in the world.  Each one is an inspiration and a bright light for all to bask in her glow.  And did I mention a barrel of fun?!  With giggles and laughter all around the table; cheese in one hand and fruit in the other, our inn keeper pouring more wine asks, “Are you ladies having fun?”  Tambra replies, “We’re healing Elivis, that’s how fun we are!”

All my love, HD

